Computer Help Forum

Go Back   vBulletin and Computer Help Forum > Computer Support > Computer Software

Computer Software Tips, reviews, and help with popular computer software packages.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2013   #1
c_frank
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: in your pc watching you.
Posts: 195
Send a message via Yahoo to c_frank
windows 7 oem licensing question

Hi, im looking at building a new machine for a friend. He wants me to build the barebones kit and use his HD from the old machine in it. the pc that the hard drive would be coming from has an OEM version of windows 7 home premium 64 Bit installed on it. I know that by switching motherboards the OEM license will be voided. I need to know if I will be able to re-activate the copy of windows with a new key once the drive is installed in the new pc? If so, do i need to have a new key available right away or will i have a certain amount of time before a new key is required?

Thanks for any input
c_frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013   #2
Greg
Administrator
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,194
I have seen new installs work for 30 days or so. Not sure though to be honest. I don't have any experience with OEM to homebrew.
__________________
Computers and Accessories Computer Manuals Riderinfo Connect for Bikers
Ad Revenue - Sell link space on your website and profit.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013   #3
c_frank
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: in your pc watching you.
Posts: 195
Send a message via Yahoo to c_frank
The old pc is a home brew with an oem license, don't think that helps but I figured that I would let you know
c_frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013   #4
Greg
Administrator
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by c_frank View Post
The old pc is a home brew with an oem license, don't think that helps but I figured that I would let you know
I am under the impression it will move and verify. But if it don't, I don't know how to get a key other then buy a new windows. I have been out of retail for a while.
__________________
Computers and Accessories Computer Manuals Riderinfo Connect for Bikers
Ad Revenue - Sell link space on your website and profit.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013   #5
c_frank
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: in your pc watching you.
Posts: 195
Send a message via Yahoo to c_frank
I don't have any problem with buying a new copy of windows, I am just wondering if i will be able to re-activate the existing copy of windows that is on the hard drive with a new key or if i will be forced to wipe the drive and do a fresh install with the new key and then transfer the drive contents back to it.
c_frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2013   #6
Greg
Administrator
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 5,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by c_frank View Post
I don't have any problem with buying a new copy of windows, I am just wondering if i will be able to re-activate the existing copy of windows that is on the hard drive with a new key or if i will be forced to wipe the drive and do a fresh install with the new key and then transfer the drive contents back to it.
I am pretty sure you'll be able to reuse the install.
__________________
Computers and Accessories Computer Manuals Riderinfo Connect for Bikers
Ad Revenue - Sell link space on your website and profit.
Greg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013   #7
bobch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by c_frank View Post
I don't have any problem with buying a new copy of windows, I am just wondering if i will be able to re-activate the existing copy of windows that is on the hard drive with a new key or if i will be forced to wipe the drive and do a fresh install with the new key and then transfer the drive contents back to it.
Neither do I. It's not a problem, I think, to move Win installations to another hdd as well as re-activate Win after reinstalling.
bobch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 PM.



vBulletin 3.8.7 Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright vB and Computer Help Forum

EZ software products copyright Greg Lynch 2006-2013